UTF-8 signature spat out by javac as 'unrecognized characte'

Using the Java SDK with TextPad

Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

Post Reply
User avatar
Nicholas Jordan
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Central Texas ISO Latin-1
Contact:

UTF-8 signature spat out by javac as 'unrecognized characte'

Post by Nicholas Jordan »

UTF-8:I'm trying to get someone going in cs, using JAVA TP 4.2 JRE 1.2 win9x on my machine, the iw specialist is probably using the latest and greatest, but I am busy with a 65,000 cpp first project and cannot stop and re-build my entire machine.

This morning while patching together some sample code, I started getting:
ï«¿
unrecognized character in input..

I stubbed my .cpp project to strip-out this first few chars in the source file and ran that b4 doing a build for about 15 builds, but each time it came back.

I tweaked and twiddeled with use UTF-8 format, don't capture output and so on ~ including reading all the updates and FAQ's b4 posting.

The machine I am using is running over a bloated dll.hell - but I have to have the ultra-fast consumer kernel to walk around 65,000 lines of code in my primary project and cannot find this fix in the FAQ.

Is this a known issue ? 8) 8) 8)
The only dumb question is one you should have asked and didn't.
ben_josephs
Posts: 2461
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 9:22 pm

Re: UTF-8 signature spat out by javac as 'unrecognized chara

Post by ben_josephs »

Nicholas Jordan wrote:ï«¿
Do you mean

and is it at the beginning of the file?

If so, then it's a Unicode byte order mark (BOM: U+FEFF) encoded in UTF-8 (EF BB BF).

Deselect
Configure | Preferences | Document Classes | <Class> | Write Unicode and UTF-8 BOM
or
View | Document Properties | Preferences | Write Unicode and UTF-8 BOM
.
User avatar
Nicholas Jordan
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Central Texas ISO Latin-1
Contact:

Post by Nicholas Jordan »

Thanx :)

I figured it out this morning while trying to implement word-frequency counts.

Off on some other problem -> initializer worked from Sample sources .. then added
class Alice {....
static int [] frequency;
... main()
frequency = new int[0x1000];// size of alloc derived from testing....

and keep getting curly-brace expected from compiler - deep in Sybex Java book looking up constructors right now.
Post Reply