I need to open Textpad from the command line/batch script (actually from Java using Runtime.exec()). For example: "notepad.exe somefile.txt".
However the problem I have is - how do I specify the size of the new window that will be opened?Presently it opens full screen and hides my application. I want it to automatically open smaller size.
How can I do that?
Any help appreciated.
thanks,
Anil Philip
Olathe, KS
goodnewsforyou AT yahoo DOT com
how to specify size of window? opening Textpad in bat file
Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 8:59 pm
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 2461
- Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 9:22 pm
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 8:59 pm
- Contact:
Please read my post carefully - it is the Windows OS which controls the window size. And I have not double posted - it is a link to this post.ben_josephs wrote:In my installation TextPad always opens with the window size and position of the last TextPad application instance to be closed. Is this not how it behaves in your installation?
Please don't double-post.
for good news, go to http://members.tripod.com/~goodnewsforyou/goodnews.html
- talleyrand
- Posts: 624
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:56 pm
- Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
- Contact:
Welcome to the forums. As a general these forums are fairly low volume and the regulars tend to read all the forums instead of a single one so no need to cross post.
Looking at the options available under the help dialogue for command line, I don't see anything that will allow you to open it with specific window sizing. I'm guessing the sizing of Textpad windows will be dependent on how it was sized when it was closed last. If you find different in the help or find a solution to your quandry, please follow up and let others gain from your insight.
Looking at the options available under the help dialogue for command line, I don't see anything that will allow you to open it with specific window sizing. I'm guessing the sizing of Textpad windows will be dependent on how it was sized when it was closed last. If you find different in the help or find a solution to your quandry, please follow up and let others gain from your insight.
I choose to fight with a sack of angry cats.
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 8:59 pm
- Contact:
solution
I am not double posting but simply put a link to it from the General forum because there may be a Windows programmer who knows the solution but may not go to the Java forum.ben_josephs wrote:In my installation TextPad always opens with the window size and position of the last TextPad application instance to be closed. Is this not how it behaves in your installation?
Please don't double-post.
-----
From Peter who wrote ShellExec at http://www.heimetli.ch
"According to Microsoft, it is possible:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/defau ... rocess.asp
(Look at the parameter lpStartupInfo)
Regards
P. Tellenbach"
-----
From Tim Kingbury:
"That's a tricky one. I'm not sure of a good way to do
it from Java. The best answer that I have is that you will need to use JNI to call the underlying Win32 function "CreateProcess()" which gives you
extensive options for controlling the appearance of the new application's
window. Actually doing this from Java would be a bit tricky because you would have to map a number of C structs into the Java environment.
Your easiest bet is to build a very small C application to do the actual
work, and call that from Java using Runtime.exec()."
----
Actually, I am wondering if the best and simplest solution is to follow up on your point - simply have the user open the program eg. textpad and resize the window to a smaller size, and then exit.
Thereafter when my application runs, it will bring up the program (textpad) in the new resized window.
thanks,
Anil
for good news, go to http://members.tripod.com/~goodnewsforyou/goodnews.html
- talleyrand
- Posts: 624
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:56 pm
- Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
- Contact: