Find dialog in a macro, strange, again :roll:

General questions about using TextPad

Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

Post Reply
User avatar
s_reynisson
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 1:59 pm

Find dialog in a macro, strange, again :roll:

Post by s_reynisson »

I'm pasting a string into the find dialog in a macro and getting strange results. Using
WinXPsp1 and TP472. Two documents open in TP. Macro records ok and I save it with the
option to execute once. When I run it, step 4 is never executed. What am I missing? TIA!

Code: Select all

1.Home, Shift-End, Ctrl-C   Goto start of line, Select it, Copy it
2.Ctrl-Tab, Ctrl-Home	    Switch to other open document, Goto the
                            start/top of it
3.F5                        Open find dialog
4.Ctrl-V                    Paste into entry box
5.Alt-M, Esc                Mark found lines, Exit the find dialog
6.Ctrl-Tab, Home, Arr-Down  Switch back to other open document,
                            Goto start of line, Get ready to select
                            next line
Then I open up and see
the person fumbling here is me
a different way to be
User avatar
MudGuard
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by MudGuard »

Help - Help Topics - Content - How to... - Use Keystroke Macros - Overview:

Points to bear in mind:
- Except where otherwise noted, typing in dialog boxes is not recorded.

- If you record a Find Next or Previous command, the current search string will be used. i.e. the search string will not be recorded, so when you play it back, it will try and find a pattern matching the last search string used.
User avatar
s_reynisson
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 1:59 pm

Post by s_reynisson »

Thx for the point MudGuard, I just looked at the Macro Examples again and saw my error,
in the examples the recorder is started after you type your data in the find dialog. *urgh*
Then I open up and see
the person fumbling here is me
a different way to be
User avatar
CyberSlug
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:41 am

Post by CyberSlug »

Might try AutoIt

Code: Select all

; AutoIt v3.0.100 sample script
Send("{Home}+{End}^c")
Send("^{Tab}^{Home}")
Send("{F5}")
WinWaitActive("Find")
Send("^v")
Send("!m{Esc}")
Send("^{Tab}{Home}{Down}")
User avatar
Bob Hansen
Posts: 1517
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: Salem, NH
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen »

I think that TextPad records your pasting value into the macro when you run it the first time. If you later have something in the clipboard, and run the macro, the clipboard contents won't be pasted into Find field, it will be the same value as when you first recorded it.

Another macro program alternative to AutoIt is Macro Scheduler
//Macro Scheduler 7.2.050
Label>Start

Press HOME
Press SHIFT
Press END
Press CTRL
Send>c
Release CTRL
Press CTRL
Press TAB
Press Home
Release CTRL
Press F5
Press Ctrl
Send>V
Release CTRL
Press ALT
Send>M
Press ESC
Press CTRL
Press TAB
Press HOME
Release CTRL
Press DOWN

Goto>Start //Insert IF conditions here to loop/Stop
Both Macro Scheduler and AutoEdit are editable. TextPad macros are not. (Use TextPad to do the editing with Syntax and Clip Libraries).
Hope this was helpful.............good luck,
Bob
User avatar
s_reynisson
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 1:59 pm

Post by s_reynisson »

Just gave that script a quick run, it does not work. Mind you, it's the first time I ever saw AutoIt and I just downloaded it so I'm using version 3.0.101 (get with the times CyberSlug! ;))
When ran just once it leaves the find dialog in a mess. Is there a quick start quide out there for AutoIt? I'm not sure I'm starting the script correctly.
CyberSlug wrote:Might try AutoIt
Then I open up and see
the person fumbling here is me
a different way to be
User avatar
CyberSlug
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:41 am

Post by CyberSlug »

s_reynisson wrote:Just gave that script a quick run, it does not work.
I probably should have warned you script was untested because I don't use TextPad keystroke compatibility and "Changing the emulation [would kill] all custom key assignments."

The AutoIt help file (AutoIt.chm) is a really good place to start. Especially look at the Send and WinWaitActive functions.

I think this might work My script would fail if the 'Cannot find' dialog pops up.

Code: Select all

Send("{Home}+{End}^c")
Send("^{Tab}^{Home}")
Send("{F5}")
WinWaitActive("Find")
Send("^v")
Send("!m{Esc}{Esc}")  ;modified
Send("^{Tab}{Home}{Down}")
Here's an alternative script, but I can't promise it will work for you:

Code: Select all

; Advanced AutoIt script (uses Control commands)
; I assume the English version of TextPad is used....

$title = "TextPad" ;partial title of TextPad window
WinActivate($title)

;Step #1
ControlSend($title,"","HSEditor1", "{Home}+{End}^c")

;Step #2
ControlSend($title,"","HSEditor1", "^{Tab}^{Home}")

;Step #3
WinMenuSelectItem($title,"", "&Search", "&Find")

;Step #4
WinWaitActive("Find")
ControlSetText("Find","", "Edit1", ClipGet())

;Step #5
ControlClick("Find","", "&Mark All")
sleep(100) ;pause 100 millisecs
;Send Esc twice in case the 'Cannot find' dialog popped-up!
Send("{Esc}{Esc}")

;Step #6
ControlSend($title,"","HSEditor1", "^{Tab}{Home}{Down}")
gbh
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 3:13 pm

Post by gbh »

I had a similar problem, using one file as a reference & wishing to 'mark all' occurences in other open files.

Thanks to cyberslug & autoit suggestion, I managed to work out the following ... (not very efficient but works)
autoit script:

Code: Select all

WinWaitActive("TextPad")              ; wait for TextPad window
$Line=InputBox("Mark All", "How many lines?", "", "")  
$curr = 1

while $curr <= $Line                  ; loop number of times
    WinActivate("TextPad")            ; activate TextPad window
    Send("{Home}+{End}^c")            ; highlight current line & copy to clipboard
    Send("^f")                        ; open 'find' dialog box
    Send("^v")                        ; paste from clipboard
    Send("{Tab 8}{+}{Tab 2}{ENTER}")  ; ensure In all documents checked and Mark All
    WinActivate("TextPad")            ; re-activate TextPad window
    Send("{Home}{Down}")              ; get next line
    $curr = $curr + 1                 ; increment loop control
wend
Post Reply