"Jump to error" is inconsistent

Using the Java SDK with TextPad

Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

Post Reply
chatt
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 6:53 pm
Location: near Toronto
Contact:

"Jump to error" is inconsistent

Post by chatt »

Code: Select all

I have a Tool/DOS cmd that does a Jikes compile 
and will goto the source error.

If I make a new command using the same parms 
it won't goto the error with:
    "Cannot jump to item under cursor"

The parms are:
    jikes -g:source +E -classpath %CLASSPATH% $File 
    $FileDir
    ^\([A-Za-z]:[^:]+\):\([0-9]+\):
    1, 2

The compile output in BOTH cases is:    
    E:/java-projects/GessServer/Player.java:25:27:25:27: Error: No field named "inName" was found in type "Player".
    Tool completed with exit code 1

I'm using 32 bit 4.7.2 under win2K SP3.

Hope someone can help,
Peter.

User avatar
s_reynisson
Posts: 939
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 1:59 pm

Post by s_reynisson »

Well, I know next to nothing about Jikes but using search for
"jikes" I found a lot in the forums, including these two links:
http://textpad.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2467
http://textpad.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3615
HTH
Then I open up and see
the person fumbling here is me
a different way to be
chatt
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 6:53 pm
Location: near Toronto
Contact:

Post by chatt »

s_reynisson wrote:Well, I know next to nothing about Jikes but using search for
"jikes" I found a lot in the forums, including these two links:
http://textpad.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2467
http://textpad.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3615
HTH
Thanks for the fast response.

I did do a search before posting my msg.

I think this is more a textpad problem than a jikes problem
since the outputs of the compiles are identical.

Peter.
User avatar
MudGuard
Posts: 1295
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Post by MudGuard »

What is your setting under
Configure - Preferences - Editor - Use Posix Regular Expression Syntax ?

Additionally:
Sometimes I got problems if the Regex did not match the whole line.
Try adding

.*$

to the end of your regex.
chatt
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 6:53 pm
Location: near Toronto
Contact:

Post by chatt »

MudGuard wrote:What is your setting under
Configure - Preferences - Editor - Use Posix Regular Expression Syntax ?
-- I have it turned ON,
-- but it doesn't make any difference OFF.

Additionally:
Sometimes I got problems if the Regex did not match the whole line.
Try adding .*$ to the end of your regex.
-- This doesn't make any difference either.

Thanks for the ideas,
Peter.

What's the matter with the formatting here?
I added text to the 'Post a reply' section
but it shows up under 'Mudguard wrote'.
User avatar
Bob Hansen
Posts: 1516
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: Salem, NH
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen »

What's the matter with the formatting here?
I added text to the 'Post a reply' section
What you wrote was included inside formatting for quotes. Need to separate the quote into two sections if you want your answer to be isolated. You can cut/paste the "(quote)/(/quote)" blocks. That's what I did here as a sample. Used"( )" vs. "[ ]" to display on forum.
but it shows up under 'Mudguard wrote'
Hope this was helpful.............good luck,
Bob
Post Reply