Compiling Multiple Files C#

General questions about using TextPad

Moderators: AmigoJack, helios, bbadmin, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

gderreck

Compiling Multiple Files C#

Post by gderreck »

Greetings
I am new to TextPad, programming and to this forum. I would first like to compliment the developer for creating what I have been looking in an editor when I don't need to use Visual Studio. The program is fast, reasonably easy to configure, and has most of the options I am looking for.

Questions:
-I have set up a compiler for C#. Fair enough. How do I go about setting up to compile multiple files into an executable. I am obviously missing something. I suspect it is something simple a newbie would overlook. :?:

-Now that I have abused your good nature, would you give me a quick run through on setting up a debugger either the VS or .NET debugger would be fine.

Thank you in advance for your help. I would like to work through these issues before I purchase the product, given that Helios does not offer refunds. :?

Thanks again and have a good day. :D
shaqmeister

Re: Compiling Multiple Files C#

Post by shaqmeister »

Questions:
-I have set up a compiler for C#. Fair enough. How do I go about setting up to compile multiple files into an executable. I am obviously missing something. I suspect it is something simple a newbie would overlook.
Hi

I don't know if this is still relevant or whether you are still looking to set up TextPad to build C# assemblies from multiple files, but it might still be helpful to post some pointers just in case anyone else is thinking about doing the same.

If you have set up your compiler - Csc.exe for C# .NET - then you already have the tool setting to achieve what you want. I'm assuming your tool settings are something like: (see correction in next post.)

Code: Select all

Command: C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.5\csc.exe
Parameters: $File
Initial Folder: $FileDir