Errormessage when I run a Java Application

Using the Java SDK with TextPad

Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

Post Reply
invisible
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:13 am

Errormessage when I run a Java Application

Post by invisible »

Hi there, Im new and trying to learn this :D

When Im finish with a code and use "Ctrl+1" is says "Tool completed successfully"

Then I run the application with "Ctrl+2" I get an errormessage at the top of the cmd-window.

Im running my win xp in non english language and will try to translate it in correct english:

Can´t find the pathway.

......

Then the Application is running with no problem.

When Im manually enter Cmd and run:

java nameofapplication

then I dont get this path-error-message.

So I guess I need to set/change a pathway somewhere?

Ty
invisible
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:13 am

Post by invisible »

Nobody knows or you dont understand my question?

I have both path and classpath fixed and I can run the program..but I still got that annoying message at the top of the cmd-window.

http://www.hem.passagen.se/kalip/dos.JPG

Its a url to a screenshot I took. Well now you can see the error-message at he top of the cmd-window. Does anybody else get this error-message when running a program?
User avatar
Nicholas Jordan
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Central Texas ISO Latin-1
Contact:

classpath

Post by Nicholas Jordan »

This is called classpath. The link you gave comes up in another language that I do not know.

The classpath tells the java virtual machine where to find the execuatble file ( which is a .class file with a main() in it )

fixing classpath is problematic.

use: "-cp" followed by where the executable file ( class file ) is using the normal foward slash - backslash depending on what operating system.

be sure to use '.' ( a dot ) as part of classpath & separate various places for the machine to look with a semicolon ==";"

all paths that have spaces should be quoted.

.;"C:\java source";C:\myfiles
invisible
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:13 am

Re: classpath

Post by invisible »

Nicholas Jordan wrote:This is called classpath. The link you gave comes up in another language that I do not know.

The classpath tells the java virtual machine where to find the execuatble file ( which is a .class file with a main() in it )

fixing classpath is problematic.

use: "-cp" followed by where the executable file ( class file ) is using the normal foward slash - backslash depending on what operating system.

be sure to use '.' ( a dot ) as part of classpath & separate various places for the machine to look with a semicolon ==";"

all paths that have spaces should be quoted.

.;"C:\java source";C:\myfiles
Tyvm

I moved my folder with all *.java/*.class-files to c:\
So I have no spaces in the path as before and now the
error-message is gone.

The problem is solved.
Post Reply