Can't compile or run java
Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard
Can't compile or run java
when i go to tools there is no option to run java or compile java or run java applet. I know it is a simple problem, but everyone I have asked doesn't know.
- talleyrand
- Posts: 624
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:56 pm
- Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
- Contact:
Not to be difficult but do you have java installed? Seen more than one thread on here where people didn't.
If so, you'll probably need to set your tools up to run the javac and java executibles. I don't use TP for Java development so I can't comment for certain that you have to manually register the tools (Configure, Preferences, Tools) but I suspect if you search this particular forum you will be able to find the solution to your problem.
[edit]Bah, I'm too nice.[/edit]
If so, you'll probably need to set your tools up to run the javac and java executibles. I don't use TP for Java development so I can't comment for certain that you have to manually register the tools (Configure, Preferences, Tools) but I suspect if you search this particular forum you will be able to find the solution to your problem.
[edit]Bah, I'm too nice.[/edit]
how do I install java
how do I install java? and where do I get it.....I want to be able to use TextPad for java developement
- talleyrand
- Posts: 624
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:56 pm
- Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
- Contact:
I could go off on a rant about people being serious about learning something and showing a bit of effort on their own, but I won't. Instead, i hear Sun has something to do with Java. You are also welcome to grab Jikes or Kaffee (if it still exists), which I will allow you to search for on google.
I choose to fight with a sack of angry cats.
- Bob Hansen
- Posts: 1516
- Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:15 pm
- Location: Salem, NH
- Contact:
First of all, from the TextPad Help menu contents, please see: How to / Use with other applications / The Java Development Kit, and also, How to / Customize settings / User Tool Properties. Please also see the information on the following web site.
http://textpad.com/support/faq/java.html
I have included some other information below, which you may find useful.
To set the CLASSPATH environment variable:
1. Exit from TextPad.
2. Click Start/Settings/Control Panel.
3. Double click System.
4. Click the Advanced tab and then the Environment Variables button.
5. Add CLASSPATH to the list and click OK.
6. Restart TextPad.
Alternatively, you can set it for the Run Java Application tool in TextPad
as follows:
1. From the Configure menu, choose Preferences.
2. Click the "+" next to Tools.
3. Select "Run Java Application".
4. Insert the following text at the start of the Parameters box , just before "$File ":
-classpath path1;path2;etc
where path1, etc. are the paths to your class files.
5. Click OK.
If you are a novice to Java, you may find the following web sites to be useful:
http://www.awoolf.com/javaclass/setup.htm
http://www.joegrip.com/
http://textpad.com/support/faq/java.html
I have included some other information below, which you may find useful.
To set the CLASSPATH environment variable:
1. Exit from TextPad.
2. Click Start/Settings/Control Panel.
3. Double click System.
4. Click the Advanced tab and then the Environment Variables button.
5. Add CLASSPATH to the list and click OK.
6. Restart TextPad.
Alternatively, you can set it for the Run Java Application tool in TextPad
as follows:
1. From the Configure menu, choose Preferences.
2. Click the "+" next to Tools.
3. Select "Run Java Application".
4. Insert the following text at the start of the Parameters box , just before "$File ":
-classpath path1;path2;etc
where path1, etc. are the paths to your class files.
5. Click OK.
If you are a novice to Java, you may find the following web sites to be useful:
http://www.awoolf.com/javaclass/setup.htm
http://www.joegrip.com/
Helios Software Solutions