TextPad vs. UltraEdit: arguments for TextPad

General questions about using TextPad

Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

scottbass

TextPad vs. UltraEdit: arguments for TextPad

Post by scottbass »

Hi,

First of all:

1) I hope this doesn't degrade into "religious" editor wars, which I've sometimes seen in other web forums. Hopefully not, since we're all pro-TextPad here. However, please keep comments on topic per the below.

2) I hope the moderators will let this thread remain. I could really use the information.

At my company, we've got Boxer as part of our global Standard Operating Environment (SOE). Since Boxer doesn't meet my needs as a programmer, I've gotten permission to use TextPad for myself and my department at my insistence. About 15 licenses...woo hoo Helios, don't spend the money all at once ;-)

However, I'm also pushing that my company (15,000+ employees) adopt TextPad globally, replacing Boxer. However, there are others in the company pushing for UltraEdit.

I've used TextPad for years, I've only seen demos of UltraEdit on other's computers.

I know we have a number of forum members who have used both editors. If so, can you please list, in your opinion, the pros and cons of TextPad vs. UltraEdit? IOW, if you were in my shoes, and needed to make an argument to senior IT staff for the use of TextPad over UltraEdit, what would those arguments be? And if UltraEdit has a feature that is better than TextPads (eg. editable macros, code folding, FTP editing), can you think of a good counter argument?

Thanks,
Scott
scottbass

Post by scottbass »

P.S: After searching all forums further, I did see additional discussions on this very topic. However, since those discussions were all quite dated, I still feel this thread has relevance in comparing the current versions of both products.
Britt

Post by Britt »