Font

General questions about using TextPad

Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

Post Reply
gs2088
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:29 pm

Font

Post by gs2088 »

I know this may sound strange, but I'm getting older, and DEPENDING on circumstances, SOMETIMES I need to increase the font (e.g. when I'm tired, I need a larger font; unlike in the middle of the day). Is there anyway to create an alternate configuration and specify it on startup (e.g. one shortcut starts in 12 pitch, and another in 15 pitch)?

ADDED: I have version 5.3.1
User avatar
Bob Hansen
Posts: 1516
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: Salem, NH
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen »

No way to do that without a third party program like Macro Scheduler ( http://www.mjtnet.com/macro_scheduler_pro.htm ). The MS script would open TextPad, check the time, and change the font according to your instructions, then would stop and you would be in TextPad as normal.

But just using TextPad, you could make two TextPad macros to change to 12/15 point and assign them to the Macro drop down list, or assign hot keys to them. that way you could change fonts on demand with a simple click.
Hope this was helpful.............good luck,
Bob
gs2088
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 2:29 pm

Post by gs2088 »

Bob Hansen wrote:No way to do that without a third party program like Macro Scheduler ( http://www.mjtnet.com/macro_scheduler_pro.htm ). The MS script would open TextPad, check the time, and change the font according to your instructions, then would stop and you would be in TextPad as normal.

But just using TextPad, you could make two TextPad macros to change to 12/15 point and assign them to the Macro drop down list, or assign hot keys to them. that way you could change fonts on demand with a simple click.
I appreciate the response. I've experimented, and came up with two alternate solutions:

1. Open textpad, set font, dump textpad registry branch. Repeat for other font. Then when you want to change it, double click on the reg file. Actually I use regedit /s ...... (the /s suppresses the "areyou sure..." prompt) in batch files. I was trying to avoid doing this.

2. Same as above, but then create a bat file, something like this:
======================
@ECHO OFF
CLS
if %1 == 20 goto FONT20
GOTO FONT15

:FONT20
REGEDIT /S "C:\MyData\$$CONFIGURATION$$\textpad\01FONT20.REG"
GOTO STARTTEXTPAD

:FONT15
REGEDIT /S "C:\MyData\$$CONFIGURATION$$\textpad\01FONT15.REG"
GOTO STARTTEXTPAD

:STARTTEXTPAD
"C:\Program Files\TextPad 5\TEXTPAD.EXE"
GOTO END

:END
REM PAUSE
EXIT
======================

3. Then create two shortcuts that call the above batch file with 15 or 20 as appropriate. I realize method 2/3 will leave a DOS window open until you close textpad, but it's just one other possibility.
User avatar
Bob Hansen
Posts: 1516
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: Salem, NH
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen »

Nice solution. You could add the batch file as a Tool so you can run from within TextPad also.
Hope this was helpful.............good luck,
Bob
User avatar
Mike Olds
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 3:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Mike Olds »

Be careful of the above posting below Bob's response.!
Thank you, and
Best Wishes,
Obo
http://buddhadust.net/
check out the What's New? Oblog:
http://buddhadust.net/dhammatalk/dhamma ... ts.new.htm
User avatar
helios
Posts: 710
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 5:52 pm
Location: Helios Software Solutions
Contact:

Post by helios »

Thanks Mike. I have deleted the offending post and banned the user name and IP address.
Helios Software Solutions
Post Reply