new to java and the other posts are confusing (javac.exe)

Using the Java SDK with TextPad

Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

Post Reply
vasastrae
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 7:03 pm
Location: arizona

new to java and the other posts are confusing (javac.exe)

Post by vasastrae »

Hello,

ok...Well, I tried to view all the other posts that pertained to my question and I still don't understand what's going on. My problem is that when I use TextPad and I try to compile a program...a warning appears and states

C:\WINNT\System32\javac.exe
this system cannot find the file specified

ok..I looked at all the other posts and I just understand how to correct the problem..
The thing is that I can use the Command Prompt just fine. I can compile my programs through the Command Prompt but not on TextPad..
I'm thinking it has something to do with setting the PATH but I'm confused on how to do that..the other posts were vague and catered to exprerience computer users, which i am not. I'd appreciate the help greatly! Thank you.
User avatar
talleyrand
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:56 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Contact:

Post by talleyrand »

I would assume that your registry has an entry stating that the java compiler (javac) exists in the \winnt\system3 folder. It doesn't sound like that is true, since you are seeing the missing file error. You now have a quest to find the javac.exe file. Start -> Run Type CMD in the box
type CD \
dir /b /s javac.exe
Update the java tool with that path and file
I choose to fight with a sack of angry cats.
vasastrae
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 7:03 pm
Location: arizona

update java tool

Post by vasastrae »

C:\java\bin\javac.exe

from here....how do i update the java tool?
User avatar
bbadmin
Site Admin
Posts: 821
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 8:54 pm
Contact:

Post by bbadmin »

Perhaps if you explained what you don't understand about the two answers pertaining to this problem in the Java FAQ, we could rewrite them to make them easier to understand.

Keith MacDonald
Helios Software Solutions
vasastrae
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 7:03 pm
Location: arizona

Post by vasastrae »

Hello Keith,

Ok, Well, I tried those directions in the faq's and Texpad compiling still doesn't work. From this, I believe I understand the directions set forth in that section but what I don't understand is why they do not help me correct my problem.

I have windows 2000. Textpad won't compile. a warning sign appears as I have explained above. I worked on the configuration within Textpad that have been explained in other posts (i did look through those). I worked on the Environent tab Path and classpath settings that have been explained in other posts as well to no avail.

What i know: C:\java\bin\javac.ex
How do i get Textpad to find this?

thanks for all your help!
User avatar
talleyrand
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:56 pm
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Contact:

Post by talleyrand »

I'd say delete the current Compile Java tool and create a new one.
Add Program and find the javac.exe located in c:\java\bin\javac.exe
Use $File as parameters
$FileDir as initial folder
Check Capture Output and Sound Alert.
Reg Exp as output = ^\(\(\(.[^:]\)\|\([A-Za-z]:\)\)[^:]+\):\([0-9]+\):
Registers file:1 Line:4
I choose to fight with a sack of angry cats.
vasastrae
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 7:03 pm
Location: arizona

Post by vasastrae »

that seemed to work...

thanks for all your help..
jac
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 11:16 pm

same problem

Post by jac »

I found javac.exe but what do I do with it exactly??
User avatar
s_reynisson
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 1:59 pm

Post by s_reynisson »

You use it to compile java source code! ;)
Take a look at the link Helios posted above,
http://www.textpad.com/support/faq/java.html . HTH
Then I open up and see
the person fumbling here is me
a different way to be
mjonz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 5:50 am

Post by mjonz »

I realize this is a fairly late post on this topic,
but having run into this issue, I thought I'd post
the step by step instructions I pulled from the
previous posts:

(FYI: I'm running:
Windows XP Profession
TextPad 4
J2EE(TM) SDK 1.4 Developer Release

TextPad has been on my system for a while
while the SDK is a recent installation.
Most of the documentation I've read makes a point of
installing SDK(JDK) BEFORE TextPad which may have
made this a non-issue...)

In TextPad select 'Configure' from the menu bar.
In the 'Configure' pulldown menu, select 'Preferences'
In the 'Preferences' screen, select and expand the 'Tools' section
(if it is not already fully expanded)
If 'Compile Java' and/or 'Run Java Application' and/or 'Run Java Applet'
do not appear, select 'Add' => 'JDK Applications' in the right-hand pane.
Click 'Apply'
In the right-hand pane, select 'Add' => 'Program'
The 'Select a File' window appears.
Browse to the location of javac.exe
(In my case it was in C:\sun\appserver\jdk\bin)
Select the file, and click 'Open'
javac appears in the right-hand pane.
In the left-hand pane, Select 'javac' under 'Tools' at the bottom of the list.
The right-hand pane lists the preferences for javac.
Compare the entries to those of 'Compile Java' and modify the new javac
data as needed with the exception of the 'Command' entry at the top of
the pane.
Repeat with 'Run Java Applications' and 'Run Java Applets' as needed.

This is a work-around to actually resolving why the originals don't work,
but it does allow me to compile and run java.
User avatar
Joe Caffrey
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 11:43 pm

javadoc.exe

Post by Joe Caffrey »

My question relates to the previous question about not being able to find javac.exe file.

I can compile fine/ I want to add javadoc.exe. My question is why do I have to enter the complete path name? Javac.exe and java.exe do not have the path name, just the filename. Shouldn't I be able to do this w/ javadoc.exe.
I have Windows ME.
joe[/quote]
jc
User avatar
s_reynisson
Posts: 940
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 1:59 pm

Post by s_reynisson »

From the http://www.textpad.com/support/faq/java.html
How does TextPad locate the JDK programs?
TextPad looks in the registry for the following keys, which are written by the JDK installation program:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\JavaSoft\Java Development Kit\CurrentVersion

Say the value is 1.3, then TextPad will look for the following value:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\JavaSoft\Java Development Kit\1.3\JavaHome

If it is "C:\Java", then JAVA.EXE should be in C:\Java\bin
The question then becomes, does TP know that javadoc.exe is a JDK
program and thus use the HKLM key? My guess is that it does not.
Perhaps TP should know so for all exe files in the java bin folder.

If this is a must for you I would reccomend you post a poll in the
Enhancement Suggestions forum and see what support it gets.

Also put "C:\Program Files\Java\j2sdk1.5.0\bin" in my path variable,
added a DOS command with the parameter "javadoc.exe $file" as a
tool in TP and it works just fine.
HTH
Then I open up and see
the person fumbling here is me
a different way to be
Post Reply