Hi all,
I currently trying to setup gcc as a tool in textpad but I'm running into some problems...
This is what I've done so far:
1. Added gcc to my path environment
2. Add gcc as tool in textpad with following:
Command = gcc $File -o $BaseName.exe
Initial Folder = $FileDir
When I try to execute the tool i get a error box with following:
[gcc C:\dir\Hello.cpp -o Hello.exe]
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect
What is wrong !?! Since the path to Hello.cpp is 100% correct (I have checked and double checked) I can't see where else the issue lies.
I've also tried:
gcc $File -o $FileDir\$BaseName.exe
and
C:\cygwin\bin\gcc.exe $File -o $FileDir\$BaseName.exe
Same result...
In advance thanks,
delley
Need help setting up gcc as tool in textpad!!!
Moderators: AmigoJack, bbadmin, helios, Bob Hansen, MudGuard
- talleyrand
- Posts: 624
- Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:56 pm
- Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
- Contact:
Re: Need help setting up gcc as tool in textpad!!!
I'm about to run out but glancing at my settings, I'd say that'd be the correct one to use. If you drop down to a DOS prompt (not the actual CygWin prompt) and execute your gcc command, does it work as intended?delley wrote: C:\cygwin\bin\gcc.exe $File -o $FileDir\$BaseName.exe
I choose to fight with a sack of angry cats.
-
- Posts: 2461
- Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 9:22 pm
The
bit goes in the Parameters box. The text in the Command box is expanded and used as a filename. What you entered expands to something that isn't a filename (and it includes a colon, which is why you get that particular error message).
Code: Select all
$File -o $BaseName.exe
gcc and gdb tools
4 anyone interested this is my tools set-up for gcc and gdb:
GCC setup as Program
---------------------------
Command = gcc (this requires that gcc has been put into your path variable!!!)
Parameters = $File -o $BaseName.exe
Initial Folder = $FileDir
Capture output checked
GDB as DOS command
---------------------------
Parameters = gdb $BaseName.exe
Initial Folder = $FileDir
The GCC tool will compile the file into filename + .exe (ex. hello.exe)
The GDB tool will open the file hello.exe for debugging. A DOS window will pop-up.
If you want more debug information try adding -g option to gcc (this will create a bigger .exe file - so when compiling for "production" don't use the -g option).
That's it - happy programming
GCC setup as Program
---------------------------
Command = gcc (this requires that gcc has been put into your path variable!!!)
Parameters = $File -o $BaseName.exe
Initial Folder = $FileDir
Capture output checked
GDB as DOS command
---------------------------
Parameters = gdb $BaseName.exe
Initial Folder = $FileDir
The GCC tool will compile the file into filename + .exe (ex. hello.exe)
The GDB tool will open the file hello.exe for debugging. A DOS window will pop-up.
If you want more debug information try adding -g option to gcc (this will create a bigger .exe file - so when compiling for "production" don't use the -g option).
That's it - happy programming
- s_reynisson
- Posts: 939
- Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 1:59 pm
Good post, thx for taking the time to share your results!
This would be a good addition to the HOW-TOs forum.
This would be a good addition to the HOW-TOs forum.
Then I open up and see
the person fumbling here is me
a different way to be
the person fumbling here is me
a different way to be