Ability to limit Find/Replace scope to bookmarked lines

Ideas for new features

Moderators: AmigoJack, helios, bbadmin, Bob Hansen, MudGuard

Post Reply
User avatar
CyberSlug
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:41 am

Ability to limit Find/Replace scope to bookmarked lines

Post by CyberSlug »

See subject line :-)

Useful to me how:
1) Run some regular expression search to bookmark certain lines
2) Run some regular expression replace only on bookmark lines

I had to write a Visual Basic program to accomplish what I wanted:
If line contains a certain keyword Then
Add an astrisk to the beginning of the line.
EndIf
User avatar
Bob Hansen
Posts: 1517
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: Salem, NH
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen »

Are you suggesting:
1.
A. Mark some lines first with bookmarks.
B. Do a Search only on those bookmarked lines

2.
A. Mark some lines first with bookmarks.
B. Do a Replace only on those bookmarked lines
Hope this was helpful.............good luck,
Bob
User avatar
CyberSlug
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:41 am

Post by CyberSlug »

Sort of both.... Sorry if I was not clear.

I am suggesting that when you go to Search/Replace, there should be an option under Scope for bookmaked lines.

Search > Replace
Scope:
o Active document
o Selected text
o All documents
o Bookmarked lines

There could be a similar option for Search > Find, but that's less important to me.
Hope that makes more sense.
User avatar
Bob Hansen
Posts: 1517
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:15 pm
Location: Salem, NH
Contact:

Post by Bob Hansen »

:idea: Temporary workaround:

Edit, Copy Other, Bookmarked Lines
File, New, Paste. Go to top of document.
Search, Document
??
??
??
Hmm, so far so good, but now no way to replace same lines in original document :oops:

NEVER MIND this workaround.!
Hope this was helpful.............good luck,
Bob
User avatar
CyberSlug
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 3:41 am

Post by CyberSlug »

This missing feature is bothering me, so I wrote a tool for TextPad. (It's crashed TextPad a few times, though--so use at your own risk.)

Maybe someone will find it useful--until the feature I've requested becomes part of TextPad :D

Script requires AutoIt3.exe from http://www.hiddensoft.com/autoit3/

Code: Select all

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; AutoIt 3.0.73 script for TextPad 4.71                              ;
; Philip Gump - philipgump@yahoo.com - 6 Nov 2003                    ;
; Allow user to perform a Replace operation only on bookmarked lines ;
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

; Script requires AutoIt3.exe from http://www.hiddensoft.com/autoit3/

; 0. Assign a user-defined tool with [change paths as appropriate]:
;       Command "C:\Program Files\AutoIt3\AutoIt3.exe"
;       Parameters "D:\My Scripts\Bookmark Replace.au3" $line
; 1. Open the Replace Dialog window and type in the "find what" and
;       "replace with" information.
; 2. Choose "selected text" as the scope, then click "Replace All"
; 3. Click OK, then close the Replace Dialog window.
; 4. Finally, run the user defined tool.


; NOTE:  One disadvantage is that your Undo buffer may fill up fast
;   since each bookmarked line replace counts as an action...

; Tested under Windows XP Pro sp1 with TextPad 4.71 and
;   TextPad keystroke compatibility is set to "Microsoft Applications"


; HOW IT WORKS:
; This script works by jumping to the next bookmark, selecting the line,
;   then performs the previous Replace operation on selected text.
; In order for the script to know when to terminate, I position the
;   cursor at the top of the document .... and keep jumping  to the next
;   bookmark until the Status Bar says "Search passed the end of file"

; Enough comments.  Here's the code:

If Not WinActive("TextPad - ") Then
	Exit  ;just in case I accidently launch this script without TextPad active
EndIf

AutoItSetOption("SendKeyDelay",0) ;help speed things up (default is 10 ms)
AutoItSetOption("WinWaitDelay",0) ;default is 250 milliseconds

; Prompt user for the status of Word Wrap.  [You may want to remove this!]
$wrapStat = MsgBox(3,"Replace in bookmarked lines...","Is Word Wrap Enabled?")
Select
	case $wrapStat = 6 ;YES button clicked
		fixWordWrap()
   case $wrapStat = 2 ;CANCEL clicked
		Exit
EndSelect
Sleep(50)
WinActivate("TextPad - ")  ;needed to give right window focus

; Capture the "find what" information the user entered in the Replace dialog.
; (This step is necessary because selecting a line overwrites the info!)
Send("^h")  ;launch Replace dialog with Ctrl+H hotkey
WinWaitActive("Replace")
$text = StringTrimLeft(WinGetText("Replace", ""), 12)
$text = StringLeft($text, StringInStr($text, @LF)-1)
$findWhat = $text
Send("!{F4}")  ;close the Replace dialog via Alt+F4 hotkey

; Jump to the very first bookmark
  Send("^{END}")  ;move cursor to end of document via Ctrl+End hotkey
  WinMenuSelectItem("TextPad - ", "", "&Search", "N&ext Bookmark")
  Send("{HOME}")  ;makes the status bar is blank

; this loop checks the text on the Status Bar to know when reach end of file
While Not WinActive("TextPad - ", "Search passed the end of file")
   ;select current line via Shift+End hotkey
	  WinActivate("TextPad -")
	  Send("+{END}")
	;launch Replace dialog window (Ctrl+H) and supply info
	  Send("^h")
	  WinWaitActive("Replace")
	  Send($findWhat, 1)  ;supply the raw "find what" info
	  WinActivate("Replace")
	  Send("!s!a")  ;scope is selected text; click Replace All button

	Sleep(5)  ;just in case Replace pops up with error box...
	If WinActive("TextPad", "Cannot find") Then
		Send("{SPACE}")  ;close error box
		WinWaitActive("Replace")
	EndIf

	Send("!{F4}")  ;close the Replace dialog via Alt+F4 hotkey
	; jump to next bookmark  [you cannot put this command at top of loop]
   WinMenuSelectItem("TextPad - ", "", "&Search", "N&ext Bookmark")
Wend  ;loop

; Return user to original line he was on by checking the $line param.
If $CmdLine[0] = 1 Then  ;user has $line in the user-defined tool param
	WinMenuSelectItem("TextPad - ", "", "&Search", "&Go To...")
	WinWaitActive("Go To")
	Send($CmdLine[1] & "!l{TAB}{TAB}{SPACE}")
EndIf

fixWordWrap()
Exit


Func fixWordWrap()  ;toggle word wrap--but only if user had it enabled!
	If $wrapStat = 6
		WinMenuSelectItem("TextPad - ", "", "&Configure", "&Word Wrap")
	EndIf
EndFunc
aimy
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 4:02 am

Post by aimy »

Yeah...

This is a must feature!!!!

TextPad mustr have include option to perform the replace only on Bookmarked Lines!!

Please!!!!
User avatar
AmigoJack
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 4:28 pm
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Post by AmigoJack »

Although this is nearly 18 years old I also vote for "bookmarks" as a new scope in the search/replace dialog: it would be nice to perform everything only on bookmarked lines.

Enhanced example: I've bookmarked line 1, 3 and 8. When searching with a regex over two lines it should match either lines 1+3 or 3+8.

Simple example: count all matches, restricted to bookmarked lines only.
Post Reply